RSS Feed

Daily Archives: August 16, 2012

Ditching the diets – Going against the grain….

Ditching the diets – Going against the grain…..

Ditching the diets – Going against the grain….

This post was inspired by a question that Jill Gardners Hate it Change it asked about people’s reactions to your ‘healthy lifestyle’, and it got me thinking….

I want to make a statement…..

I have not eaten wheat or gluten for nearly 6 weeks, I have not had a carbonated drink, and I have had not had any crisps…………

Peoples reactions to this are utterly fascinating to me. Those who I am close to think that this is great, they know I am happier and healthier and are pleased that I have made positive changes to my life. Other people are inspired by what they think is my ‘will power’. Some people say that it is no way to live and that you have to be able to go out and enjoy yourself, and others think it is wrong of me to eat healthy food because ‘I don’t need to lose weight’ Others don’t know how I can turn down a plate full of sandwiches and cakes when they have been under my nose for a couple of hours (I’ll come back to this in a bit)

These are just some of the reactions/opinions that I have been presented with.

I used to think these people’s opinions mattered, but since I am doing this for me, it is about me and MY body and MY health then surely MY opinion is the only one that matters. I told myself this when I knew I was going to be presented with a plate full of sandwiches and cakes today. I told a white lie – that I can’t eat wheat/gluten and that I would take my own lunch….that took courage.

Tuna salad

Tuna salad (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Now ‘ll admit that getting a tuna salad out of a bag that contains another bag of frozen peas to keep it cool (no ice packs in the house) was a tad embarrassing, but, it did break the ice (pardon the pun) It also felt somewhat rude to turn down this food that had been laid on for us as if there was something wrong with it. I even apologised for bringing my own lunch! What I want to know is why do we feel bad for making choices that will benefit us? Yeah, sure I could have eaten the sandwiches to ‘fit in’ but I would have felt horrendous afterwards, I thought a bit of embarrassment was worth it.

Anyway, I sat in a room full of people I’d not met before, and I ate my salad, and do you know what? It wasnt the big deal I thought it would be, no one was bothered, in fact I think they admired my so-called ‘will power’

I have not spent 28 days learning how to make myself and my choices ‘matter’ it has been a lifelong battle and it continues to go on, but if you don’t take responsibility for your emotional needs, physical needs and your health, no one else will. So, to make better lifestyle choices, and to take responsibility for your well – being,  isn’t that worth rocking the ‘socially acceptable boat for’?